Committee Membership

Email page PDF view Print view Email Alert Social media sharing
Building new communities

The AvalonBay Board of Directors is committed to sound corporate governance practices. The Board, consisting of eleven members, has ten non-employee directors. The Board’s Nominating and Corporate Governance Committee, Audit Committee and Compensation Committee consist solely of independent directors. To further promote sound corporate governance practices and effective Board management, the Board established the position of Lead Independent Director. H. Jay Sarles has served in this role since May 2015. The Company's Code of Conduct applies to all Directors, Officers and Associates.

AvalonBay's Board of Directors and the Committee's they serve on are listed in the table below:

Committee Charting

Alan B. Buckelew Glyn F. Aeppel H. Jay Sarles Peter S. Rummell Richard J. Lieb Ronald L. Havner Jr. Susan Swanezy Terry S. Brown Timothy J. Naughton W. Edward Walter Charter Documents Charter Documents Charter Documents
Audit Committee CC
Audit Committee Charter
Compensation Committee CC
Compensation Committee Charter
Investment & Finance Committee CC CB
Nominating & Corporate Governance Committee CC
Nominating & Corporate Governance Charter
Audit Committee Compensation Committee Investment & Finance Committee Nominating & Corporate Governance Committee
Alan B. Buckelew CC
Glyn F. Aeppel CC
H. Jay Sarles CC
Peter S. Rummell
Richard J. Lieb
Ronald L. Havner Jr.
Stephen P. Hills
Susan Swanezy
Terry S. Brown
Timothy J. Naughton CB
W. Edward Walter CC
CC= Chairperson
CB= Chairman Of The Board
= Member
*To view the charter documents, click on committee name.